80% of success is showing up!

I stumbled across heaps of valuable learning this week by following this Woody Allen mantra.

One opportunity I tried to defer to a colleague because I selfishly wanted to lighten my workload, and unselfishly,  I was hoping to distribute the chance to someone else.  While I did find a person to take this project on, they didn’t have the time to properly prepare so I stepped up, albeit with slight reluctance; and I was glad I did.  It was something I had never quite done before and I learned some key lessons that I will utilize in my next delivery.  If things had gone as planned, if I hadn’t shown up, I would have lost out on some incredible personal growth.

get-involved-the-world-is-run-by-those-who-show-up1Then yesterday, I found myself double-booked and not able to fully attend a training session for Toastmaster club officers.  I have been to countless sessions like this and I was pessimistically weighing my chances of learning anything new. Furthermore, since I could only attend the first part, I almost convinced myself to stay at home, sleep-in, and simplify my day. However, duty got the best of me and I decided to fit-in the single hour I could go.

It turns out this was one of the best leadership sessions I had ever attended, I walked away with a tremendous new perspective that wouldn’t have come to me if hadn’t showed up.  Ironically, none of what I was exposed to was new.  I was very familiar with the format used, I had already seen the video that prefaced one or our exercises,  and the main presenter is someone I have listened to hundreds of times before. However, the right combination of content at the right time with the right people lubricated my noggin – just right- to create for me a vastly different way of looking at things.  My mental model shifted and I will be richer for it.

So resolve this week to show up – anyway.   Read that difficult book or that 12 minute plus video or attend that learning session that you are not looking forward to. Sometimes, the situations we enter into with reluctance, are the ones that we need the most.

I would love to hear your thoughts on this or your stories of when you reluctantly showed up and were rewarded by that choice. Comment below, tweet me @gsjonuk, or email me at thejonuks@shaw.ca

This entry was posted in Practice Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 80% of success is showing up!

  1. What video did they show in the first half? I wasn’t able to attend officer training so missed it.

    For purposes of a fun random guess I’d guess it was the Simon Sinek TED video.

    If I were to pick my favorite non-TED video of the last six months then I’d guess the Google Moonshot video, i.e. forget being 10% better, be 10x better.

  2. gsjonuk says:

    Simon Sinek it was, must google the Google Moonshot vid.

  3. gsjonuk says:

    Here is the Google Moonshot video for the folks following at home: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uaquGZKx_0

    I enjoyed the video and loved the 10X concept even more. I have been exposed to this idea in a slightly different way involving the muse of a skating rink – fodder for a future speech & blog post I think.

Leave a Reply

