A Glimpse Behind Another’s Curtain

A few weeks ago, I re-introduced myself to the new principal of my kid’s school. We had previously met multiple years ago. He was a teacher at a school that I did workshops for while I was volunteer Violence Prevention Educator for the Canadian Red Cross’s RespecEd Program.

Interesting incites can be gathered from looking at things from different perspectives

Interesting incites can be gathered from looking at things from different perspectives

I asked him what he learned from his first few months on the job as a first time principal. His reply was that as a teacher, his role was primarily student focused. As a vice-principal, he said his days were also mostly occupied by children. However, as a chief principal, his daily focus has shifted away from kids and towards adults; since his main role is managing and organizing the school’s staff. He said this matter-of-factly; no regret or preference was implied.

I found this observation poignant. It was interesting to gather a peak at a perspective that I never pondered before; despite a quarter of my around the occupation of  “principal.”  It made me wonder what other incites could be gained from people that work in careers and work environments different than my own.

What have you learned from a new role that you, or someone around you, has taken on?


Comment below, tweet me @gsjonuk, or email me at thejonuks@shaw.ca

This entry was posted in Learning Conversation, Practice Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

